Order of the Hook

This originally posted on the Desert Dust.

Well there were three more trips since last report. Dave and I went back to Arrowrock. We were not disappointed. We got our limit
again, and again. They were real nice trout. There was also another trip. Jim Rees, Dave and I went to C.J. Strike to see if the big trout were on the bite yet. In a word, NO. Jim caught one that was sixteen inches and weighed an even two pounds. Dave caught one that went eighteen inches and weighed two pounds fourteen ounces. They were about three hours apart. In between the trout, we motored over to the hump to try our luck on the perch and crappie. We had better luck but it was still slow fishing. We caught seven crappies, the largest being eleven inches. We also caught four perch and three bluegill. The perch and the bluegill were all real nice
size. Even though we didn’t nail the trout we had fun. There was a slight breeze in the morning but by noon it settled down and the
lake was almost mirror like for the rest of the day. I thought the Strike trip was going to be my last one for the year; I cleaned up
the boat and put the cover on it. I almost got teary eyed but with foot surgery coming up it had to be done. Then Dave called
and suggested we make another run on Arrowrock. I was like an old hunting dog watching the guns being put in the truck. I loaded up my Arrowrock back pack and grabbed a couple of rods and away we went. Twelve more fish fell that day. Well now I am grounded. I had the foot taken care on the ninth and I will be down until late December. The kids are coming home for Christmas so you can bet I will have the grandkids on the water. I remember their dad always complaining about the cold when we winter fished, and I would hate to deprive them of the same opportunity. If you have a fish story that you would like to share, send it to me and I will make sure it gets in the Desert Dust. Keep your hooks sharp and don’t pass up the opportunity to go fishing. And I wish you and yours a very happy holiday season.

Published in: on December 19, 2011 at 8:14 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://elkorahshrine.wordpress.com/2011/12/19/order-of-the-hook/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

